Top 3 drivers qualified within the same thousandth of a second. Jacques Villeneuve was first to set a time of 1:21.072, fourteen minutes into the one hour session. A further fourteen minutes later, Michael Schumacher posted an identical time. With nine minutes of the session remaining, Heinz-Harald Frentzen crossed the line, again with a time of 1:21.072. Under the regulations, in the event of drivers setting equal times in qualifying, the order in which the times were set is considered, with the first driver to set the time given precedence. Villeneuve was awarded pole position on the starting grid for the race, with Schumacher second and Frentzen third 

 Jacques VilleneuveWilliams-Renault1:21.07225

 Michael SchumacherFerrari1:21.072+0.00034

 Heinz-Harald FrentzenWilliams-Renault1:21.072+0.00041

 Damon HillArrows-Yamaha1:21.130+0.05859

 Mika HäkkinenMcLaren-Mercedes1:21.369+0.297610

 David CoulthardMcLaren-Mercedes1:21.476+0.40476

 Eddie IrvineFerrari1:21.610+0.53888

 Gerhard BergerBenetton-Renault1:21.656+0.584914

 Olivier PanisProst-Mugen-Honda1:21.735+0.663107

 Jean AlesiBenetton-Renault1:22.011+0.939


Share This Story

Get our newsletter