What is the sound of one piston slapping?
What is the sound of one piston slapping?
Illustration for article titled MotOPPO GP 2016: The Lowest-Sailing GP of KATT KARR

Ever wanna play a fantasy game but (1) don’t want to wait for a long time between stages or (2) participate in a shitshow? Then MotOPPO GP is just for you.


MotOPPO GP is all-new, just as this year’s MotoGP season is new. And unlike most Middle Eastern rounds in other series, the season opener in Qatar always delivers the goods. Which makes the job of living up to the race an even greater challenge for us showrunners, who are way behind schedule.

Last season... actually, forget it. We never had a last season, because MotOPPO GP never existed last season. This season is a start-from-scratch season. Which means you didn’t miss anything—in fact, you’re just in time for the start. In fact, only you are on time. We, the showrunners, are too late.


Aprilia has a new bike! And it’s the proper, full Monty now! But can they challenge Suzuki and their alien Maverick? How sparkling can the battle between MarcVDS and Pramac be? Is Ducati going to do a shock upset and win it all, or will Honda take back what they think is theirs? Can Jorge defend his title, or will Rossi knee the trophy out of his hands?


The rules can be found below, but for simplicity, consult the quote box after the link.


Sample Picks 1

Q: Lorenzo

1: Marquez
2: Lorenzo
3: Dovizioso

Wipeout: Bradl and/or Crutchlow


Sample Picks 2

Q: Yamaha-99

1: Honda-93
2: Pramac-9
3: Suzuki-41

Wipeout: LCR-35 and/or Avintia-8

Meet your riders!

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini:
Alvaro Bautista (Aprilia-19)
Stefan Bradl (Aprilia-6)


Aspar Racing:
Yonny Hernandez (Aspar-68)
Eugene Laverty (Aspar-50)

Avintia Racing:
Hector Barbera (Avintia-8)
Loris Baz (Avintia-76)

Ducati Team:

Andrea Iannone (Ducati-29)
Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati-4)

Estrella Galicia 0,0 MarcVDS Racing:

Tito Rabat (MarcVDS-53)
Jack Miller (MarcVDS-43)

LCR Honda:

Cal Cruthlow (let’s just call him Cal, OK?)

Monster Yamaha Tech3:

Bradley Smith (Tech3-38)
Pol Espargaro (Tech3-44)

Movistar Yamaha MotoGP:

Valentino Rossi (Yamaha-46)
Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha-99)

OCTO Pramac Yakhnich:

Danilo Petrucci (Pramac-9)
Scott Redding (Pramac-45)

Repsol Honda Team:

Dani Pedrosa (Honda-26)
Marc Marquez (Honda-93)

Suzuki Ecstar:

Maverick Viñales (Suzuki-25)
Aleix Espargaro (Suzuki-41)

Illustration for article titled MotOPPO GP 2016: The Lowest-Sailing GP of KATT KARR

My picks:

Q: Pedrosa

1: Rossi
2: Lorenzo
3: Dovizioso

Wipeout: P. Espargaro and/or Baz

You have until just before the first qualifying session to make picks. Any later, and I’ll trap you.


The MotoGP race at Losail will begin Sunday, 20 March.

MotOPPO GP. It’s starting away from us.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter