Rally Flashback: 2005 Rally Mexico

Before each round of the WRC I'll find a classic clip as a warm-up to the action. It can be useful for getting an insight in what the rally is all about, and be helpful when choosing drivers in the Fantasy WRC. This weekend's Rally Mexico is quite new, with only ten years in the WRC. The altitude and rough roads in Mexico have challenged a lot of cars and drivers, and the same thing happened in 2005.


The year before Sebastien Loeb went out of Rally Mexico while leading, forcing the Frenchman to retire. This year the rivalry against Petter Solberg continued, and both of them had a win coming into this round. Petter also had problems in 2004, but managed a 4th place in heroic fashion. Peugeots Markus Grönholm and Markko Märtin also wanted to challenge for the win in Mexico. The latter driver won here in 2004, also a very good watch if you have the time.

Other drivers include Toni Gardemeister, Francois Duval, Jani Paasonen, Roman Kresta, Gilles Panizzi, Harri Rovanperä and Chris Atkinson, who also enters this years rally.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter